art opening

photo-3

Next Friday is the art opening at Nahcotta Gallery for the Enormous Tiny Art show! I’m thrilled to have my tintypes represented there and honestly, I find it rather surreal (and very humbling). I watched this art show from afar, online before I moved here. Then my first winter here (feb ’12) I attended the art opening for ETA show #13. It proved to be monumental for such tiny works of art, it lit something in me and circled me back to a community of amazing (and favorite) artists. Tradition began when I attended the art show the following year as well (feb ’13 for ETA #14) and said to myself “I’d love to see my photography on these walls.”

Little did I know I would fall in love with the collodion process while creating tintypes here at home. And this would be the “tiny art” that joins this gallery. One never truly knows the path, right? We simply go by feel.

Next week I’ll be attending the art opening (ETA #15) and I will be grinning ear to ear. Surreal indeed! Six of my ferrotypes will be showing that night (and throughout the month) at Nahcotta in Portsmouth, NH. You can see my work on their website here and artwork is for sale online as well as at the art opening. I’m pleased to see that my favorite tintype has already sold! It is such a work of love, creating these pieces. Each one is handcrafted through a process I really have come to admire (and respect). They become a piece of me, like extensions of self included with fingerprints and imperfections. They are my babies, really… and I’m proud to be sending them out into the world to be loved by others.

I hope you’ll pop over there to the website to see more of my tintypes displayed and to check out the other amazing artists listed there as well. If you are in the area, you should stop by and say hello! It proves to be a great evening and Portsmouth is such a fun town. I’m really looking forward to it!

If you are curious about the collodion process and how I made these tintypes, you can read more in the recent issue of Taproot Magazine (RECLAIM issue #8) or hear my thoughts on silver that I shared here in this post.

