flying

I wish that you could see me when I’m flying in my dreams
The way I laugh there way up high
The way I look when I fly
The way I live
The way I fly

i was a bird in my dreams, flying always flying. stopping to perch on wires, sit on fences, hang from my hands from lightposts… because in reality i was just a little girl. 

flying dreams were my escape. they were my way out of body, my way to catch air, experience free fall, taste freedom.

i woke one morning with the fresh colors in my mind, the edge of land and sea, the wind still in my hair, sand on my feet as i lifted off straight up off the beach into blue sky. i was four. and it was the first dream i ever remember having.

i’ve been trying to find my way back to that take off ever since.

I don’t really know what I’m doing
Just watching myself in some play
And the actress looks like she wants to go home
And lie in bed all day
Yeah lie in a big bed all day

~ Chief by Patty Griffin

