bounty

He comes in with dewy shoes and arms full of firewood. The air shifts, the leaves fall, and the farm stands are full of browns and orange. It’s harvest time for squash and pumpkins, and for that I am very grateful. As summer lingered longer than expected, we picked greens from the garden and spicy flowers for our salads. Now as weather turns chilly I reminisce about the lightness of summer. I plan for the coming cold of winter; and I very much enjoy this time of harvest.

I stop for awhile, before carrying out the apple cider and honey that our family requires. I stop and breathe it in. The sights and smells are what I crave the most. The colors are rich and earthy, they warm me from the inside this time of year. Sometimes stopping for just a moment is all it takes to keep perspective on the bigger picture that often gets lost in the busyness that carries us through our everyday.

Before pulling out of the gravel driveway I look once more at my surroundings. I see my reflection in the rearview mirror: happy to be here, immersed in what I consider an idyllic childhood. Thankful for the family and the bounty that surrounds me.

Wishing you all a very happy Thanksgiving!

