the view from here

coming up over the crest, through the woods, this sight never ceases to take my breath.  this {what this stands for} might be everything i love about new england. {and this one too if i’m being completely honest}
there was snow in the air and just a dusting on the ground yesterday when i pointed my lens towards my surroundings. this week i’ve been begging the universe for a change, something to soften my view. something to get me ready for the holidays. something to match the new love and new traditions of new england. i was looking for it in the snow, but it came in the form of family and laughter shared over bowls of soup.
the view from here just keeps getting better and better.
Shoveling Snow
by Kirsten Dierking

If day after day I was caught inside
this muffle and hush

I would notice how birches
move with a lovely hum of spirits,

how falling snow is a privacy
warm as the space for sleeping,

how radiant snow is a dream
like leaving behind the body

and rising into that luminous place
where sometimes you meet

the people you’ve lost. How
silver branches scrawl their names

in tangled script against the white.
How the curves and cheekbones

of all my loved ones appear
in the polished marble of drifts.

“Shoveling Snow” by Kirsten Dierking
from Northern Oracle. © Spout Press, 2007.
